Epiphany – The Baptism of Christ

 Epiphany - The Baptism of Christ

As one of the aspects of the Epiphany I have focused on the Baptism of Christ. Being St John the Baptist church I felt this to be the most apt way to record this ancient feast day.

John the Baptist was God’s appointed messenger. Before Jesus began his ministry, John had been announcing to the people throughout the regions of Jerusalem and Judea to prepare for the coming Messiah. He was calling them to repent, turn from their sins, and be baptized. He was pointing the way to Jesus. Then, all of a sudden, Jesus appeared on the scene. Jesus came to John to be baptized, but John told him, “I need to be baptized by you.” John himself wondered why Jesus asked to be baptized.
So Jesus replied, “Let it be so now; it is proper for us to do this to fulfill all righteousness.” John then consented and baptized Jesus. As Jesus came up out of the water, heaven opened, and the Spirit of God, like a dove, descended upon him. Witnesses to the baptism heard a voice from heaven saying, “This is my son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased.”

